CF-51 Intel CoreDuo 1.66GHz to Intel Core2Duo T7200 /400/600

Post all questions and information about the CF-5x series in here.
Message
Author
Driller
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 9:03 pm

Re: CF-51 Intel Core Duo 1.66GHz to a Intel Core 2 Duo T7500

#21 Post by Driller »

of course it another brand entirely, the gutaway, was a T5250 1.5/2M/667 SLA9S and the T7500/2.2/4M/800 worked and is working great right now. I don't know if the chipset makes much of a difference on the T7500 working on the gutaway, it being a 965GME and not working on the cf-51 which is 945 pm or 945 gm chipset. I swapped out ram in the cf-51 RC4KFBM to the 5300 and that made no difference. for the hell of it I popped in a T9600 which is a 2.8/6M/1066 and it didn't work either. apples and oranges here, why the gutaway and not the cf-51 core duo? ............Driller

Driller
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 9:03 pm

Re: CF-51 Intel Core Duo 1.66GHz to a Intel Core 2 Duo T7500

#22 Post by Driller »

did some reading other websites on different laptops as to cpu upgradability and now I'll surely show my lack of understanding as to the true inner workings of TB and other brand laptops. guessing the reason why we can't get the T7500 working on the cf-51 is strictly the bios as some other brands were able to work with T7500 and even some that would take the T9600 from a P8400 with basically identical MB but different bios, as they said the manufacturers didn't want you to know that many had same MB but a different bios that limited what you could put in and it would work with. a hint was to find if a particular model had options that you could choose a more powerful cpu and that possibly you could do the swap and it might work, but they don't sell a lot of new laptops that way. also, I didn't know that the cf-51-52 were not manufactured in Kobe Jp. haven't looked hard enough to find out where they were fabricated and assembled and if this "place" made other related laptops, MB's, parts as to bios versions and could these be used to upgrade a bios to make the cf-51 work with even the T7500, maybe even the T7800(higher cost!). I'm guessing Rusty figured out how to do this or he picked up a trick that would allow this to work, .....RUSTY!!!!!!!! where are you!!!!!????? Rob, I know you said once that here,"at home" we could ask questions that might not be allowed on toughbook forum, so I'm hinting here can this be done. so much for my diatribe,.................Driller.....on the bottom of one of the laptops Unit of Panasonic Corp of North America, Secaucus, NJ 07094, Assembled in USA of foreigh components. who made these parts, like in Taiwan, China or where? bios upgrade anyone?
Last edited by Driller on Mon Oct 25, 2010 8:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
toughasnails
Toughbooktalk Moderator
Posts: 2643
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:59 pm
Location: "TOUGHBOOK LAND" ME ,USA / NB . CANADA

Re: CF-51 Intel Core Duo 1.66GHz to a Intel Core 2 Duo T7500

#23 Post by toughasnails »

Since its Rusty that got this to work , he most likely was playing with the BIOS since he is the only one that cracked the password on the 30 that I know of.
:spinny: Blair :spinny:
___________________
CF-19 MK1, 2, 5 Emissive Keyboard, Samsung 240GB SSD, 12GB Ram, W7 64 bit, GPS *
CF-28 MK2, 3
CF-30 MK2 , Intel SSD, 4GB , GPS, W7 Ultimate , Bluetooth, Emissive Keyboard
CF-51 MK3LL Core 2 Duo T7600 Mod , W7, 4GB Ram, 160GB 7200RPM HDD, Finger Print Reader
CF-52MK1 Core2Duo 2GHz, Intel SSD X25 Series ,4GB , BT with dock
CF-52 MK4 i5‑2540M 2.60GHz, ATI Discrete Graphics, Intel 120GB SSD, 16GB,W7 Pro 64bit
CF-53MK1 i5/2520, Kingston Hyper X SSD 240GB, 16GB memory, W7 Pro 64bit with dock
CF-54 MK2 Samsung SSD512GB, 16GB memory
And the little guys CF-M34 MK3 and MK7
Dell 1710
Infologix / MediSlate 10.4" tablet
Cel Google Pixel XL
Member of:
http://thessdreview.com/
http://www.toughbooktalk.com
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/

Driller
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 9:03 pm

Re: CF-51 Intel Core Duo 1.66GHz to a Intel Core 2 Duo T7500

#24 Post by Driller »

surfing the web I came across alatest site or something very similar that spoke about the cf-51 and reviews that said it had a C2D P8600/2.4ghz centrino2 1GB ram 160GB hdd and a dvd multi-reader. further along it said something concerning data bus speed and listed the following 1066mhz/400mhz/533hhz/667/mhz/800mhz. then it got to the cpu's and listed these 725/735/740/760/P8400/P8400/P8600/P8600/T2300/T2500/T7100/T7300. and the types as core 2 duo/ core duo/ Pentium M. Now all this seems interesting to me as with time we find about models of other laptops with features that don't come up on the configurator or any known printed info about appointments and options for these laptops. do you think the newest member of the toughbook forum might find out if any of these mysterious laptops exist, I think he goes by Orion or something like that. It's becoming more evident that bios upgrade may be the key to getting the higher end cpus to work in the cf-51. any ideas here, you or anybody else aware of some other cf-51 "blackbirds" out there? may have even been transitional cf-52 units..........Driller

User avatar
teo
Posts: 731
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 8:31 pm
Location: B.C.

Re: CF-51 Intel Core Duo 1.66GHz to a Intel Core 2 Duo T7500

#25 Post by teo »

Ok! I've got another CF-51MK3llRC model with 1.66ghz cpu for 49 buck but no harddrive and caddy. I will try to replace the cpu from MK3Q model (2.0Ghz) as I can't make this unit to work the aero interface. I don't know why ATI doesn't have an update support for win 7 OS on Radeon mobility X1300 card.

Let see what happen.


teo

User avatar
toughasnails
Toughbooktalk Moderator
Posts: 2643
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:59 pm
Location: "TOUGHBOOK LAND" ME ,USA / NB . CANADA

Re: CF-51 Intel Core Duo 1.66GHz to a Intel Core 2 Duo T7500

#26 Post by toughasnails »

teo wrote:Ok! I've got another CF-51MK3llRC model with 1.66ghz cpu for 49 buck but no harddrive and caddy. I will try to replace the cpu from MK3Q model (2.0Ghz) as I can't make this unit to work the aero interface. I don't know why ATI doesn't have an update support for win 7 OS on Radeon mobility X1300 card.

Let see what happen.


teo
UPDATE
Teo ,mine is a CF-51RC4KFBM so the aero should work but I don't think I have the same video card as you :confused: . It's at the other house so I will check tomorrow.
:spinny: Blair :spinny:
___________________
CF-19 MK1, 2, 5 Emissive Keyboard, Samsung 240GB SSD, 12GB Ram, W7 64 bit, GPS *
CF-28 MK2, 3
CF-30 MK2 , Intel SSD, 4GB , GPS, W7 Ultimate , Bluetooth, Emissive Keyboard
CF-51 MK3LL Core 2 Duo T7600 Mod , W7, 4GB Ram, 160GB 7200RPM HDD, Finger Print Reader
CF-52MK1 Core2Duo 2GHz, Intel SSD X25 Series ,4GB , BT with dock
CF-52 MK4 i5‑2540M 2.60GHz, ATI Discrete Graphics, Intel 120GB SSD, 16GB,W7 Pro 64bit
CF-53MK1 i5/2520, Kingston Hyper X SSD 240GB, 16GB memory, W7 Pro 64bit with dock
CF-54 MK2 Samsung SSD512GB, 16GB memory
And the little guys CF-M34 MK3 and MK7
Dell 1710
Infologix / MediSlate 10.4" tablet
Cel Google Pixel XL
Member of:
http://thessdreview.com/
http://www.toughbooktalk.com
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/

User avatar
teo
Posts: 731
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 8:31 pm
Location: B.C.

Re: CF-51 Intel Core Duo 1.66GHz to a Intel Core 2 Duo T7500

#27 Post by teo »

Ok! its a success, I upgraded the 1.66(T2300) to 2.0ghz(T2500) and its works perfectly. I need to max out the ram and see if he can handle the Win 7 64bit.


teo

User avatar
toughasnails
Toughbooktalk Moderator
Posts: 2643
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:59 pm
Location: "TOUGHBOOK LAND" ME ,USA / NB . CANADA

Re: CF-51 Intel Core Duo 1.66GHz to a Intel Core 2 Duo T7500

#28 Post by toughasnails »

According to Intel it's a no go on the 64bit. I like there site, in the drop down you can check any CPU.
http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=27236
:spinny: Blair :spinny:
___________________
CF-19 MK1, 2, 5 Emissive Keyboard, Samsung 240GB SSD, 12GB Ram, W7 64 bit, GPS *
CF-28 MK2, 3
CF-30 MK2 , Intel SSD, 4GB , GPS, W7 Ultimate , Bluetooth, Emissive Keyboard
CF-51 MK3LL Core 2 Duo T7600 Mod , W7, 4GB Ram, 160GB 7200RPM HDD, Finger Print Reader
CF-52MK1 Core2Duo 2GHz, Intel SSD X25 Series ,4GB , BT with dock
CF-52 MK4 i5‑2540M 2.60GHz, ATI Discrete Graphics, Intel 120GB SSD, 16GB,W7 Pro 64bit
CF-53MK1 i5/2520, Kingston Hyper X SSD 240GB, 16GB memory, W7 Pro 64bit with dock
CF-54 MK2 Samsung SSD512GB, 16GB memory
And the little guys CF-M34 MK3 and MK7
Dell 1710
Infologix / MediSlate 10.4" tablet
Cel Google Pixel XL
Member of:
http://thessdreview.com/
http://www.toughbooktalk.com
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/

User avatar
OperationDinnerOut
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Colorado

Re: CF-51 Intel Core Duo 1.66GHz to a Intel Core 2 Duo T7500

#29 Post by OperationDinnerOut »

Indeed - all Core Duo processors come from the "Yonah" family, which is entirely 32-bit. Mobile 64-bit began with the Core 2 Duo, of which "Merom" was the first.
- Andy -
Panasonic Toughbook CF-18 Mk2 - Fully-rugged, Win7
HP EliteBook 2530p - 1.86GHz C2D, 4GB RAM, Win7
Panasonic Toughbook CF-28 Mk3 - Rubber backlit keyboard, WinXP/Debian

Driller
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 9:03 pm

Re: CF-51 Intel Core Duo 1.66GHz to a Intel Core 2 Duo T7500

#30 Post by Driller »

Just purchased a T7600 off ebay and also looked at the specs via intel and yes it looks like it should work on the cf-51, as soon as I get it in I'll let you guys know. I'll try it in several of the cf-51's to see if it works in the different core duos with different bios versions. Can't wait...........Driller

Post Reply

Return to “CF-54 / CF-53 / CF-52 / CF-51 / CF-50 Talk (Discontinued Models)”