Max RAM memory on a CF-31 Mk3

Post all questions and information about the CF-31 in here.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Mainumbí
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 2:30 pm
Location: Uruguay

Max RAM memory on a CF-31 Mk3

#1 Post by Mainumbí »

Hi, everyone.

I have a CF-31SBLAB1M. Reading about the hardware of this model I came across this page: https://ark.intel.com/content/www/es/es ... 0-ghz.html
Apparently, the Intel i5-3320M can handle up to 32 Gb of RAM. Is it correct? I know this forum has a history of members pushing the memory capacity of the Panny to the limits, (which is amazing, BTW).
Is it doable? Have anyone done this?

Many thanks.

User avatar
kode-niner
Posts: 690
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 7:39 am
Location: Canada

Re: Max RAM memory on a CF-31 Mk3

#2 Post by kode-niner »

With only two SODIMM slots it would be an expensive test.
Daily drives a CF-31

User avatar
Mainumbí
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 2:30 pm
Location: Uruguay

Re: Max RAM memory on a CF-31 Mk3

#3 Post by Mainumbí »

kode-niner wrote:With only two SODIMM slots it would be an expensive test.
Yes, indeed. But I have the opportunity to buy used modules from a coworker for a fraction of new ones, so I could give it a try. However, I want to know the feasibility of doing so before trying it.

User avatar
Rob
Toughbooktalk Founder
Posts: 3544
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Max RAM memory on a CF-31 Mk3

#4 Post by Rob »

Negative... 16GB is all this will handle. I've tried with 32 with no success.
~Rob - Rugged Depot
~Cell: (630)/300-8877~
~Owner - Toughbooktalk~
~Fully rugged Toughbook user since April 18th 2005~
~FZ-40ACAAHKM - Primary Toughbook / Workstation as of 7/29/22
~Win10 Pro (Win11 DG), Intel Core i5-1145G7 (up to 4.4GHz), vPro, 14.0" FHD Gloved Multi Touch, 16GB, 1TB Samsung SSD, Intel Wi-Fi 6, Bluetooth, 4G EM7690, GPS, Quad Pass (BIOS Selectable), Mic and Infrared 5MP Webcam, Standard Battery, TPM 2.0, Emissive Backlit Keyboard, Dual Batteries, USB A + HDMI + Serial X-PAK, Shoulder Strap, Flat~
~AT&T Business 1GB Fiber 1GB/1GB business static line~
~Gamber & Johnson Platinum Partner~

http://www.toughbooktalk.com
http://downloads.toughbooktalk.com/
http://www.rugged575.com - 300' UHF GMRS Radio Repeater
http://www.crete600.com - 310' UHF Linked GMRS Radio Repeater


~Emergency preparedness starts with reliable communication systems above all. Pretend the internet and cell phones didn’t exist, how will you communicate? If you’re interested in learning more, ask me!~

UNCNDL1
Posts: 509
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 8:01 pm
Location: New England

Re: Max RAM memory on a CF-31 Mk3

#5 Post by UNCNDL1 »

I'd like to add some RAM to this MK 4 31 unit.
What's a good link to view specs and pricing?
CF-53 MX-Linux 21 Wildflower
CF-30 MK2 SSD MX-21 Betsy, MK2 Navigatrix, Fundraiser for TbT
CF-52 GUN SSD MX-19
(NICE) Thanks Sadlmkr
CF-M34 MicroWattR8 Thanks Sadlmkr
CF-M33 MicroWattR8 Thanks Springfield

User avatar
Mainumbí
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 2:30 pm
Location: Uruguay

Re: Max RAM memory on a CF-31 Mk3

#6 Post by Mainumbí »

Rob wrote:Negative... 16GB is all this will handle. I've tried with 32 with no success.
Many thanks, I knew somebody, somewhere, might try this before. You spare me a substantial amount of money.

Post Reply

Return to “CF-31 Talk (Discontinued Model)”