New here with a CF-30

Post all questions and information about the CF-30 in here.
Message
Author
damanx
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 8:13 am

New here with a CF-30

#1 Post by damanx »

I started out two years ago getting a couple CF-29's locally for a pretty good price.

One of those sat as a spare for the better part of that time. The one I used, I use mainly for tuning software for my truck. Even have a Precision Mount for it.

A few weeks back, I picked up a CF-30.

Model number is CF-30CWQAZBM

Came with DVDR drive, 80gig HDD/caddy, power supply.

I immediately installed 4gig ram and a 500gig 7200rpm drive into it.

Runs pretty good on vista, but I'll be changing that soon enough.

Touch screen is flaky, so I'll be replacing that. Don't really care if it works. And then, I took the rubber emissive keyboard out and replaced it with the emissive chiclet keyboard from the spare CF-29.

For a CF-30 with all that and just under 2100 hours, I'd have to say that 110 bucks wasn't a bad deal.

I am now trying to convince myself to retire the CF-29's and use the 30 solely.

User avatar
safn1949
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 10:33 am

Re: New here with a CF-30

#2 Post by safn1949 »

Go here to get the driver bundle for Windows 7,if you have a copy of 7 just install it and run the exe in the bundle as admin and it will add all the drivers in order. Easy as it gets.

http://www.panasonic.com/business/tough ... nloads.asp
2 CF-30Mk3's, 2 CF-71's, CF-L1, 3 CF-72's, CF-73, CF-74, CF-48, CF-50, CF-51Mk3, 2 CF-19's,7 CF-52's, FZ-A1 and other assorted beaters.

User avatar
Bill_TN
Posts: 531
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 9:07 am
Location: Ft. Campbell area.

Re: New here with a CF-30

#3 Post by Bill_TN »

Welcome to the forum. New here myself so can tell you these guys are very helpful. They might not convince you to retire the 29 but in time you might end up with dual mounts in the truck.
CF-29ET, CF-28ST, CF-30G , CF-M34, CF-19Ch, CF-19FH, CF-19CD, CF-73 mk1, CF-74K & H, CF-51RCB, CF-51RCL, CF-52CC .

As long as the deal is good for you it is good for me.

Member of Toughbooktalk and Notebook Review forums

User avatar
SHEEPMAN!
Posts: 2239
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Location: TDR-HQ California

Re: New here with a CF-30

#4 Post by SHEEPMAN! »

You will be very happy if you install a new TS panel. The existing one is repairable (usually) by a few individuals but the real cost will be the same. The new panel will be bright and clear and the concern of it's going flaky again will be gone.

Sounds like you have a Vista Bios. That's good as it is required for Windows 7. There is a sticky somewhere here about CF-30 MK1 bios.

Welcome.

Jeff
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/

damanx
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 8:13 am

Re: New here with a CF-30

#5 Post by damanx »

I'm thinking it's getting about time to do it though. The only hangup about doing it is the fact that the 29 has a parallel port where the 30 doesn't.

Why is this important?

This awesome little HP 4L printer that I use.......

User avatar
Shawn
Posts: 2959
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am

Re: New here with a CF-30

#6 Post by Shawn »

I know a board member who has a couple CF29's.. Maybe get a whole a top half or rebuild one for you to swap..Swapping a top half is a half hour job..

Hint..Hint...ask... Jeff (Sadlmkr)
Life will beat you into submission.

damanx
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 8:13 am

Re: New here with a CF-30

#7 Post by damanx »

The CF-29's I have are fine as they are. I replaced the touchscreens a while back with lexan.

The CF-30 touch sreen is acting funny.

Will probably replace that with lexan also.

I've lived without a touchscreen this long.

If I pull the touch screen out of the 30, I'll probably do some experimenting with the ribbon cable and some silver strand from some 32 gauge wire.

User avatar
Shawn
Posts: 2959
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am

Re: New here with a CF-30

#8 Post by Shawn »

I'm tired ..not paying attention....yes, I can live without touchscreen too..I much prefer a digitizer.
Life will beat you into submission.

damanx
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 8:13 am

Re: New here with a CF-30

#9 Post by damanx »

Not sure if I am reading you post correctly.

Technically speaking, the touch screens in these model tough books use the same technology as the Garmin touch screens, which are referred to as "digitizers"

User avatar
SHEEPMAN!
Posts: 2239
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Location: TDR-HQ California

Re: New here with a CF-30

#10 Post by SHEEPMAN! »

Panasonic Toughbooks are different terminology.
Digitizer takes a special stylus. Has another layer to the panel.
Touch-screens use different stylus, finger elbow whatever.

Then there are the dual touch kind. I never touched one. lol play on words.
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/

Post Reply

Return to “CF-30 Talk (Discontinued Model)”